top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMatt Poole

“Talking Through Glass: A Higher Calling”

This will be long winded for some. You may call it venting. I offer it as a wake up call for some and a challenge for others.

We live in an age that sees us pandering for the next like, click, share, follow or comment as we speed through our timelines 15 posts per second. Eyes dead set and growing weary as they gaze on at graying screens watching small square personas pass us by.

The thought of consequence has faded with each keystroke made. Remorse and self-responsibility have taken a backseat in a culture of talking through glass instead of to ones face.

Some of you really know me. Some don’t. Some know how I feel about the expression “higher standard”, and most know that while I strive to meet that standard, I don’t do it at the cost of others, and I don’t attempt to think of myself as being better than anyone, no matter what their station in life is.

I will tell you however, that although I may not hold myself above anyone, I will hold my response above others. I may not be better than you, but my words and actions can be.

I’ve lived in fear of speaking my mind for many years. Often not saying anything unless tact was its root, but know now what I say is said not only with tact but in love.

I know it is hard to still your tongue (or fingers as it may be) when coming across the large amount of trash found on social media. Disheartening doesn’t come close to the emotions often felt by many reading the faceless thoughts of others in a digital age of falsehoods that requires nothing more than a keyboard and the will to spread lies and discontent (no brain required).

I will remind my brothers and sisters in blue, my brothers and sisters in Christ, and any other level headed enlightened soul that we are in a battle to change hearts every day. And whether we like it or not, our words (although actions speak stronger) are viewed, are used, and hold as much weight on these pages in the battle of souls going on this very moment.

In times when I find it hard to pass up the free opportunity of putting someone in their place, I must remind myself that through love, through my restraint, and through the Word of God I may just change their hearts if I put myself in a place to lead them where they need to be.

I often go back and read over various sections of Psalm 36 and 37 to look for strength in these times. 36:1-2 “I have a message from God in my heart concerning the sinfulness of the wicked: There is no fear of God before their eyes. In their own eyes they flatter themselves too much to detect or hate their sin.” It continues in verse 3 “The words of their mouths are wicked and deceitful; they fail to act wisely or do good.”

We must speak (write as it may be) in a way that brings life to others and directs them from their wicked ways. Lead from hate to love, from sin to life, from loss to worth. Our tongues are our worst enemy or our best example of Christ, and in this age, our fingers typing away in public forums are a direct reflection of our tongues, which are direct reflections of our hearts.

When I find it hard to hold back some of the earthy truths I could place here, I remind myself of the truths known to me through the Word of God. Psalm 37:7-9 states “Be still before the LORD and wait patiently for him; do not fret when people succeed in their ways, when they carry out their wicked schemes. Refrain from anger and turn from wrath; do not fret—it leads only to evil. For those who are evil will be destroyed, but those who hope in the LORD will inherit the land.”

Let us be good stewards of the gifts we are given each day. Let us take every chance to lift others up. Let our words speak life and be wise in an age where slander is lifted to new heights with bright blue colored “thumbs up” and lies are exalted through heart-like emotional icons.

I renew my strength in these words “Because the Sovereign Lord helps me, I will not be disgraced. Therefore have I set my face like flint, and I know I will not be put to shame.” (Isaiah 50:7). Do not let us become discouraged by useless and dead words of others who do not know peace, let alone seek it.

As for those wishing to pursue a more peaceful life but not yet willing to reflect on Gods Word I offer this statement as truth that you may find a little solace amongst the refuse online. When one must you remind you of their freedoms to write what they wish, then their composition generally offers no truth and most definitely holds no worth.

God bless you all and remember “Those who know your name trust in you, for you, Lord, have never forsaken those who seek you.” (Psalm 9:10).




33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page