top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMatt Poole

I am My Brothers Keeper: When is "enough" really enough?

To the ones hurt and lost…God loves you and you have a purpose. To the other 900,000 sworn officers out there, one hundred fifty-nine (159) of our brothers and sisters are gone, and those are only the verified suicides to date. The number is only going to continue going up as we enter the peak months. This is our problem, and we aren’t doing enough. I’m going to say some things you don’t like. I don’t care. Officers are some of the most rude and heartless people I know, that will do some of the most amazing, selfless, heartfelt things I’ve ever seen. And yes, I’m painting you with a broad brush. Not the brush that says we are all as bad as the 1% of “officers” that disgrace our badge, but the brush that says we are the 99% of officers that perform our duties well, do a bang up job of saying we care for each other like family, and do a piss poor job of showing it until one of us is in the ground. Don’t believe me? Just look at the way we treat one another (as a whole). Look at your “extended family’s” interactions online, in person, in private. Seems like the only time we want to come together is when we are hunting someone that has hurt one of our own or when the pipes and drums are playing. Still don’t believe me, you’re lying to yourself. This is not just an Admin issue or simply a street level problem. This is a cultural concern. The brotherhood you had twenty years ago is dead and gone. Some of you saw it disappear before then, still complain about it now, but what have you done about it? What are we doing about it now? Why are such a large group of brave men and woman so afraid to speak up, not only for themselves, but for others? Are you more willing to ride in their procession than say something that could save their life? For those that blame it on Admin, are you not willing to all come together as a family and say something, to demand something be done? It is all of our duties to stop the stigma killing us. How do you plan on changing anything in this profession unless you are willing to take a stand at the personal level? It’s our responsibility! I’ve already decided I will finish out my career trying to save the physical and spiritual lives of my brothers and sisters, whether it cost me it or not. I don’t care. Their lives are more important than my shiny badge could ever be. I will continue trying to change hearts, influence minds, and show those in need of help that wearing this uniform doesn’t have to be a death sentence. I am #MYBROTHERSKEEPER. What will you do? Copline 1-800-267-5464 Crisis Text Line, text “BLUE” to 741741 National Suicide Prevention 1-800-273-TALK Cop2Cop 1-866-COP-2-COP www.bluehelp.org www.thewoundedblue.org



110 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page